Thread: First Jeep Build

Time Online: 4 Days 11 Hrs 52 Mins 19 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 22 Secs

First Jeep Build

Alright guys and gals,

Recently picked up a '96 Cherokee Classic off a buddy of mine who originally bought it as a winter beater. Picked it up this past May with 344,000kms on it. Pretty solid base to start with.

1996 Cherokee Classic
    4.0L I6
    344,000kms
    D30 front/ 8.25" rear
    Factory gas tank skid
    NP242 transfer case
    Wee bit of rust above the windshield/rockers have small holes in them/and little rust patch above the hatch.

It's my first Jeep after being in the VW scene since I first got my driver's licence. Now, I will warn you that this will be a slow build thread as I am still a poor 21-yr-old student.

The next day, I wanted to figure out what axles I had so I took some pictures. They are a little rusty but maybe one day if money and time allow, I'll sand 'em down and paint them. By the looks of it, I know that my rear axle is leaking from the fill plug.

That night, I picked up a set of Jeep steelies mounted on some worn Goodyear Wranglers. Brought 'em to work the next day, swapped them onto my Jeep and gave it its first wash. I'm a detailer so I gave it a great detail inside and out. After driving around in the rain with them on for about an hour, I realized that the tires just couldn't be used. So the next day at work, I swapped my Uniroyal Laredos onto the steelies and put the worn Wranglers on the Grizzly wheels. The Grizzly wheels were pitted and corroded to hell. Mounted the steelies on the Jeep.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG00002-20100506-2229.jpg   IMG00011-20100511-1859.jpg   IMG00012-20100511-1859.jpg   IMG00013-20100511-1859.jpg  
    Last edited by dub4life; 09-10-2010 at 05:30 PM.
    1996 Jeep Cherokee Classic
    D30 Front/8.25" Rear
    NP242 / 5" Hybrid Lift
    16x8 Soft 8s on MT/Rs
    350,000kms and still kickin'