Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 2007 JK Rubicon 4 door lightening bolt on dash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8

    2007 JK Rubicon 4 door lightening bolt on dash

    Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I am perplexed.
    My JK gets a lightening bolt on the dash and goes into safe throttle mode after the outside temperature is past 17.

    I thought it was wiring, so i heat wrapped the wires i could see. I thought it may be a dirty throttle body, cleaned it. Cleaned the air sensor and the throttle connector wire. Still get the bolt. I figured it may be the tps sensor itself, of course its non-serviceable so i had to replace the whole throttle body. Did that today, thought i had it licked, drove a few kms and got the bolt.

    Anyone got any advice on a direction i could go to fix this? in a nutshell, runs like a dream until the outside temperate is above 17, then get the lightening bolt. Goes to safe mode but still drives, just with throttle lag.

    Any help is appreciated.
    thx,

    d.
    W'll figure it out, ya know what I mean.

    2007 Unlimited Rubi
    99 TJ - Found a new home
    OF4WD#6811

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Richmond Hill
    Posts
    3,582
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 1 Yr 5 Mths 2 Wks 16 Hrs 11 Mins 44 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 43 Mins 40 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    Move north of the artic circle? Sorry all I got
    2010 JK Unlimited Sahara, rubi axles, 35" duratracs, OME lift: Written off, RIP.
    2006 LJ Rubicon Lots of stuff from TMR installed by CT Motorsports (see profile if you want to know) project once more with feeling
    Quote Originally Posted by igotafrigginjeep View Post
    Listen to the wise Drizit
    Hey he said it not me.
    There Must have been a time when we could have said no.

  3. #3
    Stickybongsmoking's Avatar
    Stickybongsmoking is offline Yes, this is gawd damn muthafockling CTD NUT.
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caistor Centre - Cultural Hub of the universe
    Posts
    4,933
    My Mood
    Buzzed
    Time Online: 10 Mths 3 Wks 5 Days 42 Mins 45 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 26 Mins 53 Secs
    Rep Power
    28
    The lightning bolt is the electronic throttle control warning light. There could be a few different issues that trigger this light. Check to see what codes are stored before going any further.
    A Member of:
    New Frontier 4x4 Club
    OF4WD 4928 & 6687


    1980 CJ Juggy
    2004 GC 4.7 HO Overland

    "Simple, yet functional....like a Sledgehammer"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    Ok i will see if i can pull any codes. I know i have a bad cat but i dont think that would contribute. Any examples of the types of issues that cause that symptom?

    Drizit - LOL , Ontario is almost too cold in the winter now a days.

    thx for the assistance,

    d.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    290
    Time Online: 3 Wks 2 Days 17 Hrs 6 Mins 1 Sec
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 57 Secs
    Rep Power
    15
    you should be able to pull the codes just cycling the key. in case you dont have a code reader.
    Now i have a JEEP I am getting good at fixing things lol

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Barrie
    Posts
    5,099
    My Mood
    Amused
    Time Online: 2 Mths 11 Hrs 48 Mins 33 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 59 Secs
    Rep Power
    20
    Pedal calibrated to new throttle body?

    IAT functioning correctly?
    Poster does not represent or warrant the the information accessible via this post is accurate or complete. Except as specifically stated on this post, neither rbjeepthing nor any of his affiliates, will be liable for damages arising out of or in connection with the use of this post.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    Here is the codes using torque.

    Not sure how to calibrate to the new throttle body. Never checked the intake air sensor, but it seems ok.

    Current Fault Log
    ------------------
    P0038: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 1 Sensor 2)

    Pending Fault Log
    ------------------
    ECU reports no pending faults

    Historic Fault Log
    ------------------
    ECU reports no historic faults
    Other discovered fault codes
    (possibly pending, current or manufacturer specific)
    ----------------------------------------------------
    P2122: Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor/Switch D Circuit Low Input

    End of report.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    290
    Time Online: 3 Wks 2 Days 17 Hrs 6 Mins 1 Sec
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 57 Secs
    Rep Power
    15
    Torque may give you readings for the accelerator voltages or % check both values change when you depress the accelerator.

    Sounds like you need an accelarator pedal and o2 sensor, or you need to fix some wiring.

    The pedal could just need calibrated, not sure what codes would come up if that was required, googled the procedure this is what came up.

    1) Insert ignition key and turn to "ON" (not start). 2) Wait for all idiot lights to go out. Check Engine Light may remain on. 3) Slowly depress the accelerator pedal all the way to the floor. 4) Slowly release the accelerator pedal until it's all the way back up. 5) Turn the ignition key to "OFF". 6) Start the engine.
    Last edited by akafred; 06-01-2016 at 01:13 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    I will give it a try thanks. I am worried its wiring. The cabling seems to go under the manifold, seems like it will be a pain. Is there a sensor on th epedal itself or is it an assembly?

    thx,

    d.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    290
    Time Online: 3 Wks 2 Days 17 Hrs 6 Mins 1 Sec
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 57 Secs
    Rep Power
    15
    would probably be the wiring from the pedal to ecm. most cars have 6 wires with 2 separate signals, the ecm compares the signals and if there is any discrepancy you get the codes and the car wont run.

    this is done so that if one signal shorts high the car doesn't go full throttle.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    Where is the ecm located?
    thx.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Richmond Hill
    Posts
    3,582
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 1 Yr 5 Mths 2 Wks 16 Hrs 11 Mins 44 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 43 Mins 40 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    Drivers side, under the hood. Flat metal box with 4 large connection on it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    thx. i am gonna try and check the connections tonight. I also bought a new IAT and coolant temp sensor to install. See if anything makes a difference. Just hoping its not wiring. I am 6' 4" and fat so its hard to work under the dash.

    thx all for the help,

    d.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    290
    Time Online: 3 Wks 2 Days 17 Hrs 6 Mins 1 Sec
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 57 Secs
    Rep Power
    15
    if your throwing parts at it why not start with parts that have associated codes coming up?

    o2 sensor
    and pedal

    you should be able to verify whats going on in torque, you can see most sensor values if you go to the add gauge page.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Niagara on the Lake
    Posts
    45
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 9 Hrs 39 Mins 15 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 56 Secs
    Rep Power
    8
    Fully agree,

    I was doing the IAT because it was mentioned it may be a culprit, it will also cheap. while i was picking it up i asked about the coolent temp sensor and it was cheap to so i picked it up. The O2 is on the exhaust, had it for awhile. I thought it was a seperate issue but i can get one if you suggest it may be in the mix.

    I cant seem to find a pedal sensor anywhere, just a pedal assembly. Maybe i am looking in the wrong place?

    thx,

    d.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    290
    Time Online: 3 Wks 2 Days 17 Hrs 6 Mins 1 Sec
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 57 Secs
    Rep Power
    15
    Try rockauto. Or if you have jeep friend swap pedals. See if problem follows the pedal. The o2 is secondary so shouldnt affect much but for 30$ swap it.. you may luck out with the 2 sensors your changing but i doubt it.

    Personally i wouldnt change anything untill you look at the values in torque.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •