Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Remote Starter Problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    301
    Time Online: 3 Days 15 Hrs 24 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 17 Secs
    Rep Power
    12

    Remote Starter Problems

    I just bought a 2003 Chevy Montana with a remote start installed. I'm not sure what make it is but by the remote it looks like a cheaper Crappy Tire brand. When I push the "start" button it flashes the lights and looks like it is going to start (no turnover or sounds) and then flashed the parking lights 3 times...no dice. From inside the vehicle I put the key in the "on" position and pressed the "start" button and it fired it up?? Does it sound like a loose connection or a bad module?

    Thx, Jay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oshawa
    Posts
    8,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 3 Wks 6 Days 4 Hrs 27 Mins 52 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Mins 14 Secs
    Rep Power
    19
    Sounds like a shit aftermarket remote start that will cause no end to the headaches down the road. As i advise to all my clients. REMOVE IT.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Kitchener - Waterloo
    Posts
    258
    Time Online: 1 Day 1 Hr 37 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 5 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    Three blinks could be hood pin depending on model. If it was the bypass the remote start would trip the factory alarm and you'd have to wait ten mins to start it. Check for a hood pin under your hood, and see if the light on the dash ( led) or it might be on the ant, see if its flashing all the time.
    OF4WD# 5253
    1989 Islander YJ SOLD
    1997 TJ Sahara 35s, Warn 8000, Jet Chip, Flexilite Fan, 6 inchs of lift. blahSOLD!
    1999 Ford F-150 4X4

    02 Polaris Sportsman 700
    RDC lift, RDC Relocate , blah, blah, and blah.

  4. #4
    LugNutz's Avatar
    LugNutz is offline President of Post Whore Guild
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    13,331
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Time Online: 1 Mth 2 Wks 6 Days 9 Hrs 16 Mins 39 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 8 Secs
    Rep Power
    24
    I don't think the hood pin is the problem (Although 8 times out of 10 it is), if it was the pin, the RS wouldn't work with the key in. I'm thinking maybe vehicle immobilizer not getting a signal. A quick way to tell is put the key in the ignition cylinder, but don't turn it on, then try using the remote start. If it starts, it's the immobilizer interface.
    Last edited by LugNutz; 11-26-2007 at 04:54 PM.
    You never truly know your limits until you exceed them....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    301
    Time Online: 3 Days 15 Hrs 24 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 17 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    I agree it is a shit aftermarket...it does not start if I just put the key in the ignition, it must be in the "on" position. I will check the hood pin and if that's not it, it's probably not worth the time to troubleshoot it.

    Thx again, I'll let you know how it goes.

  6. #6
    LugNutz's Avatar
    LugNutz is offline President of Post Whore Guild
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    13,331
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Time Online: 1 Mth 2 Wks 6 Days 9 Hrs 16 Mins 39 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 8 Secs
    Rep Power
    24
    Some units also had fuses on the power, ignition feeds, but I doubt that would give you such symptoms. Can you find out the brand and maybe I can get the diagnostic codes for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    301
    Time Online: 3 Days 15 Hrs 24 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 17 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    I haven't had a chance to check for the actual module in the van, but the remote has "Premier" on it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    everglades of lower suburbia
    Posts
    40
    Time Online: 26 Mins 34 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    Rep Power
    11
    mine does that when it pops one of the ign fuses

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    301
    Time Online: 3 Days 15 Hrs 24 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 17 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    the ign fuse in the unit itself or in the car? does it start at all? I'll check the fuses tomorrow.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    492
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Time Online: 3 Wks 5 Days 2 Hrs 47 Mins 8 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Mins 8 Secs
    Rep Power
    14
    i have a problem with my auto starter as well. Since i replaced my engine in my 97 TJ the remote turns the engine over 3 times automatically but it never catches and doesnt start. With the key it starts no problem? WTF?
    I have Anal Glaucoma- I can't see my ass coming into work today.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    everglades of lower suburbia
    Posts
    40
    Time Online: 26 Mins 34 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    Rep Power
    11
    the fuse for the unit itself

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Milton, ON
    Posts
    217
    Time Online: 22 Hrs 35 Mins 59 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Secs
    Rep Power
    14
    Try dropping the key on the front seat and pressing the start button, I have heard that many GM keys have a chip in them with a proximity sensor to know the key is in.
    I had inquired about putting a remote start in my Venture and I was asked if I had an extra key that they could tie up under the dash so that it could start.

    Just what I heard.
    Mike - 08 JK, 4 dr, Silver.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oshawa
    Posts
    8,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 3 Wks 6 Days 4 Hrs 27 Mins 52 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Mins 14 Secs
    Rep Power
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Blubberpud View Post
    I just bought a 2003 Chevy Montana with a remote start installed. I'm not sure what make it is but by the remote it looks like a cheaper Crappy Tire brand. When I push the "start" button it flashes the lights and looks like it is going to start (no turnover or sounds) and then flashed the parking lights 3 times...no dice. From inside the vehicle I put the key in the "on" position and pressed the "start" button and it fired it up?? Does it sound like a loose connection or a bad module?

    Thx, Jay
    Sorry But is it a CHEV VENTURE or PONTIAC MONTANA. There is no such thing as a chev montana

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oshawa
    Posts
    8,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 3 Wks 6 Days 4 Hrs 27 Mins 52 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Mins 14 Secs
    Rep Power
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by mbfrosch View Post
    Try dropping the key on the front seat and pressing the start button, I have heard that many GM keys have a chip in them with a proximity sensor to know the key is in.
    I had inquired about putting a remote start in my Venture and I was asked if I had an extra key that they could tie up under the dash so that it could start.

    Just what I heard.
    Yes the '03s use a chipped key. They are called pass key 3

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    301
    Time Online: 3 Days 15 Hrs 24 Mins 27 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 17 Secs
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by C.C. View Post
    Sorry But is it a CHEV VENTURE or PONTIAC MONTANA. There is no such thing as a chev montana
    LOL yea shows how much I drive it....it is a PONTIAC MONTANA thks.

    And thanks for all the suggestions but still haven't got it to work..oh well all the cold weather is hopefully gone now anyway

    '05 TJ, mall crawler
    '96 ZJ Limited, 5.2L
    '92 YJ, 4 Banger, 3.5" Lift on 33"s, Locked, Posi-Lok, Cobra CB --GONE :`(.

    "I'd try to see things from your point of view, but I can't fit my head that far up my ass."

    "When life gives you retards....hold a telethon"

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Welland
    Posts
    1,601
    Time Online: 1 Wk 3 Days 10 Hrs 33 Mins 37 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 51 Secs
    Rep Power
    16
    I had a problem with mine that I had put in my Dodge Dakota. The Girlfriend bought me one for Christmas from Best Buy and I had it installed in my Dakota. It worked when I picked it up, and never worked after that. I went back a few weeks later, and they explained to me I had to "Set it" everytime I got out (its a standard truck) and that every time I get out, I have to have the e-brake on, the shifter in Neutral, and hit the starter button with the truck running. The dash lights flash and come on, and when I turn the key off and take it out, it stays running. I get out and shut the door, then have to hit the door lock button with the doors shut and the motor then turns off. Next time I go to get in, the remote start will work, unless I open my door before I try to start it.
    1987 Jeep YJ - Daily driver/trail rig - On the road but Currently under construction

    Thanks everyone for helping me realise I really do dislike people in general

    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular Job, I'm your average white Suburbanite slob
    I like Football, and Porno, and Books about War

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burlington
    Posts
    5,009
    Time Online: 1 Mth 3 Wks 5 Days 8 Hrs 29 Mins 23 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 38 Secs
    Rep Power
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Blubberpud View Post
    I just bought a 2003 Chevy Montana with a remote start installed. I'm not sure what make it is but by the remote it looks like a cheaper Crappy Tire brand. When I push the "start" button it flashes the lights and looks like it is going to start (no turnover or sounds) and then flashed the parking lights 3 times...no dice. From inside the vehicle I put the key in the "on" position and pressed the "start" button and it fired it up?? Does it sound like a loose connection or a bad module?

    Thx, Jay
    If the van will start with the key in the run position, it's likely the Passlock3 module bypass has failed. The remote starter also should not allow a remote-start cycle to occur with the key in the run position, you you're likely looking at a shoddy installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by BEATSTTC View Post
    i have a problem with my auto starter as well. Since i replaced my engine in my 97 TJ the remote turns the engine over 3 times automatically but it never catches and doesnt start. With the key it starts no problem? WTF?
    Either your anti-theft is not disabled during remote start cycle (most likely) or the fuel pump/ignition/ASD is not getting powered up during remote start cycle. If it's never worked, I would expect someone messed up on the 2 wires that need power during the remote-start cycle and forgot one.

    Quote Originally Posted by apuszczalowski View Post
    I had a problem with mine that I had put in my Dodge Dakota. The Girlfriend bought me one for Christmas from Best Buy and I had it installed in my Dakota. It worked when I picked it up, and never worked after that. I went back a few weeks later, and they explained to me I had to "Set it" everytime I got out (its a standard truck) and that every time I get out, I have to have the e-brake on, the shifter in Neutral, and hit the starter button with the truck running. The dash lights flash and come on, and when I turn the key off and take it out, it stays running. I get out and shut the door, then have to hit the door lock button with the doors shut and the motor then turns off. Next time I go to get in, the remote start will work, unless I open my door before I try to start it.
    That's normal & installed correctly. It's a safety precaution. Consider yourself lucky - most shops will not install remote starters for fear of liability. You could, in theory, shut it down properly then reach through the open window and slam it in gear. If you remote start the truck, it will run away.

    I've installed dozens, and hundreds have been installed at our shop. On newer cars, I always insist on a professional installation by a electrical specialist - not just a mechanic.
    ....-Noltz
    '91 Frankenheep Edition. 4.0, 4" BDS, Richmond 8.8, 35" KM2's, Titan 12k, ... gone.
    '95 4Runner SR5. Air-Lift bags, OBA & 8K Winch, DD... gone.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Welland
    Posts
    1,601
    Time Online: 1 Wk 3 Days 10 Hrs 33 Mins 37 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 51 Secs
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Noltz View Post
    That's normal & installed correctly. It's a safety precaution. Consider yourself lucky - most shops will not install remote starters for fear of liability. You could, in theory, shut it down properly then reach through the open window and slam it in gear. If you remote start the truck, it will run away.

    I've installed dozens, and hundreds have been installed at our shop. On newer cars, I always insist on a professional installation by a electrical specialist - not just a mechanic.
    Oh, i know its installed correctly, they just never explained I had to do that when I went to pick it up, and I was never given the instruction booklet for it. It just takes alot of getting used to to set it to use the remote.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bath
    Posts
    137
    Time Online: 48 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Blubberpud View Post
    cheaper Crappy Tire brand.

    Thx, Jay
    Crappy Tire seems to put them on sale ( giving them away) at xmas....Installing them yourself is a JOKE..cant be done without a couple of specialty tools.....Getting a mechanic friend to installing one leads to them telling you to leave or returning with a quality one...I'm going to tell you what I do..I go start my Jeep...I go back in the house...check weather...tell wife I love her...kiss the kids...and get back in my now not so frosty Jeep....Its Canada..Its Cold..Suck it up

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burlington
    Posts
    5,009
    Time Online: 1 Mth 3 Wks 5 Days 8 Hrs 29 Mins 23 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 38 Secs
    Rep Power
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Crackerman View Post
    Crappy Tire seems to put them on sale ( giving them away) at xmas....Installing them yourself is a JOKE..cant be done without a couple of specialty tools.....Getting a mechanic friend to installing one leads to them telling you to leave or returning with a quality one...I'm going to tell you what I do..I go start my Jeep...I go back in the house...check weather...tell wife I love her...kiss the kids...and get back in my now not so frosty Jeep....Its Canada..Its Cold..Suck it up
    I'd have to disagree. We put hundreds of these things in every year at CT and have a very low defect rate with the units themselves. Not to say it never happens, of course, but it's quite rare. The installation itself is far more likely the culprit than the module.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •