Thread: What welder to go with? Lincoln MIG-PAK 15/WELD PAK 175HD OR Hobart Handler 187?

Time Online: 10 Hrs 27 Mins 18 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Secs

What welder to go with? Lincoln MIG-PAK 15/WELD PAK 175HD OR Hobart Handler 187?

Can get a sweet deal on all 3 of these - new. Which one would you choose? Hobart is a couple hundred bucks more, all weld somewhere between 30 and 175amps. I don't weld alot but don't like to buy junk. I don't want to fork out close to $2000 for a Miller and I've heard that Miller isn't necessarily the best but I'm no expert. What about ESAB? Looking to spend no more than $1200.00 for a mig welder.... Thanks for any opinions....

http://www.mylincolnelectric.com/Cat...t.aspx?p=61249 <-- weld pak 175hd

http://www.hobartwelders.com/product...ed/handler187/

Time Online: 4 Mins 31 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    i just got a lincoln 180 its was around 900 hun and its a sweet little welder. the mig pac 15 is a candian tire welder not sure , but i thought they dropped that model.
    xj with stuff

Time Online: 3 Mths 1 Wk 3 Days 13 Hrs 46 Mins 51 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 8 Mins 16 Secs
    my buddy has the lincon 180 from crappy tire. it goes on sale for $599. its fantastic. it'll do up to 180 amps, and you can get a spool gun and do aluminum. we made a snowplow for his 4 wheeler and welded 4 feet nonstop at full amperage, it didnt trip out. you do need to get gas its a night and day difference. it turns a good welder into a superstar.
    currently building a toyota. i'm sorry.

My Mood
    Drunk
    Time Online: 2 Wks 7 Hrs 43 Mins 48 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Min 10 Secs

welder..

what are you planning on welding? i bought the MIG-PAK 15 from crappy tire last year. works great. for general fab. it more than met my expectations......
    it has been replaced with the 180, which is pretty much the same welder in a newer case. i would wait until it comes on sale at the ol' crappy tire......
    just an honest opinion........