Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seats in a Pick up Truck Bed

Time Online: 7 Hrs 21 Mins 46 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 1 Secs

Seats in a Pick up Truck Bed

I have a regular cab 1997 chevy c1500 (not even a 4x4) that I would like to be able to bolt a seat or 2 in the back for when I want to take the whole family along for the day (in the summer)
    1) Is this legal to do
    2) If it is ,what seats would you all recommend.
    If it's legal, I was thinking about mounting them rear facing right behind the cab. I'm a welder and have my own shop so making brackets and hardware and mounting them safe and securely is not a problem.
    Any advice is welcome

Regards
    Jimyweld

Time Online: 13 Hrs 18 Mins 12 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 2 Secs
    I highly doubt its legal, but I fun none the less.

Hmm Quick search on the the interweeb and found some interesting info from the states but havent found anything on canads laws yet.
    Theres an interesting company called BedRyder Inc. that makes a legal bed seat solution but they have been tested and regulated by law as legal.
    heres there site http://www.bedryder.com/id31.html

also here are the laws and legalitys of the states trucl beds http://www.iihs.org/laws/cargoAreas.aspx
    Last edited by oblivion; 05-12-2009 at 08:55 AM.

Time Online: 1 Mth 3 Wks 2 Days 8 Hrs 45 Mins 55 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 24 Secs
    pretty sure it's legal, as long as there's some seatbelts.
    the subaru brat come with seats in the back from factory.
    you could even put in some holy chit handles, just like the soob.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails soob brat.jpg  
    proud OF4WD member #3875

My Mood
    Stressed
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 3 Hrs 23 Mins 35 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 55 Secs
    check with local law enforcement to see what they say on that subject...