Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 87 yj build with 350 chevy

Time Online: 3 Days 8 Hrs 45 Mins 26 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 16 Secs

87 yj build with 350 chevy

This is my first build so if anyone has helpful hints or parts that would be great. I am starting from the ground up and planning to use ford 9 inch axles unless I come across something better, I also plan on putting in a chevy tranny and transfercase. All I have that I am using is the frame and the body so if any of you guy's can help me out that would be great!!!

Time Online: N/A
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    here is a linc to some good info.
    i will realy help you pick out your drivetrain parts.
    there is so many options and combos with chev motors and tranys.
    i wouldent buy an adaptor but this site will give you a guide on what fits what
    http://www.advanceadapters.com/
    Last edited by mud bros.1; 06-22-2009 at 10:07 AM.

Time Online: 6 Days 19 Hrs 30 Mins 59 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 33 Secs
    Have built already, so if you need any tips, feel free to ask.
    Go to Novak Adapter website for a combo list, and I highly advise their parts over advance adapters, for both price and adjustabity, which you do need. I would recommend the Explorer 8.8 over the 9"..more modern, easier to find, disc brakes, 35 spline axles, and a good locker, the right width, and just as stong.
    You will need,,an engine and trans. I used a TH350, but would recommend a 700R4. I have 4:10's and 35s, which revs about 3200 at 100 km..so overdrive would be a bonus.
    U will also need an SYE, and double cardan driveshaft. you can do it without, but you'll end up kicking yourself in the end, Not a hard swap, but it has some pitfalls.
    PM me for pics and details, and a list of what I used and recommend (or dont)
    Cheers

My Mood
    Twisted
    Time Online: 1 Mth 2 Wks 6 Days 18 Hrs 37 Mins 53 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 10 Secs