Thread: 76' CJ7 resuscitation

Time Online: 1 Day 1 Hr 39 Mins 32 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 5 Secs

76' CJ7 resuscitation

Hello all I'm new to Jeep kings. Want to say I'm happy to be a part of this great community of Jeepers!!!
    My jeep is named Bruno he is a 76' CJ7. I bought it from a guy in Sarnia for a good deal. He was asking a little much but he had completely rebuilt the back half of the jeep and floors. Tube steel frame wheel wells with 16 guage steel around the tub... or 14... dunno but it's a ****in tank! Reinforced frame and a chev motor w/TH400. He bought the adavance adapter converter to the Quadra JUNK T-case and the rest of the original drive train.
    Over the years I just enjoyed driving it. I put a 327 from a 68' Impala boared .030 over, lots of great parts too many to mention. Shift kit in the trans, and replaced 4.. yes 4 t-cases. So much so The guys I was getting them from no longer have any. So Bruno sat sadly for a year while I went through a divorce... she always did say he would outlast her!
    Enough is enough. Bruno needed reviving. I did lots of research into Jeep t-cases and alternate ideas. finally I came upon a great site that matched years of vehicles and makes that matched parts I was looking for... sorry lost the bookmark guys.
    My salvation came in a 91 blazer. It had no motor but it did have a TH700R4 with a mated NP208. It also had a 3/4 ton axles and military rims!
    At present time I've torn down the blazer, leaving the firewall on the frame. After parking the two next to each other many possibilities for a monster jeep seemed present but obvious fabrication projects were apparent. Measurements were taken and upon closer inspection, there was a 5" difference from leaf to leaf from truck to jeep. The pumkins on both vehicles are against the leaf on the passenger side... so the 10 bolt axle will not fit under the jeep... So it's pretty much looking like Ill have to cut and shorten the blazer frame.