Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: gas gauge

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Aylmer Ontario
    Posts
    295
    Time Online: 1 Day 5 Hrs 55 Mins 3 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 6 Secs
    Rep Power
    9

    gas gauge

    somewhere along the line something has gone wrong with my gas gauge it doesnt work at all does anyone have some ideas on how to fix this? I am not electrically inclined so small steps here. thanks alot this is for an 85 chevy pickup

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orangeville
    Posts
    1,143
    Time Online: 2 Hrs 32 Mins 30 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: N/A
    Rep Power
    14
    It is the ground.
    If what I don't know can't hurt me; I'm indestructable!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near London
    Posts
    13,879
    Time Online: 1 Mth 3 Wks 8 Hrs 25 Mins 31 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 13 Secs
    Rep Power
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Jesse View Post
    It is the ground.
    x2..

    Welcome to JeepKings, where men are men, and sheep are nervous
    put your seatbelt on, i wanna try something
    screw a farmer.................everyone else does

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Etobicoke
    Posts
    99
    Time Online: 1 Wk 4 Days 8 Hrs 3 Mins 17 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 55 Secs
    Rep Power
    9
    probably your sending unit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Aylmer Ontario
    Posts
    295
    Time Online: 1 Day 5 Hrs 55 Mins 3 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 6 Secs
    Rep Power
    9
    the previous owner has a rats nest of wiring he changed multiple gauges and steering columns so the wiring is just horrible under the dash I thought the issue was somewhere there however I will check the ground and get back to you guys thanks alot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burlington
    Posts
    5,009
    Time Online: 1 Mth 3 Wks 5 Days 8 Hrs 29 Mins 23 Secs
    Avg. Time Online: 4 Mins 38 Secs
    Rep Power
    18
    If you've got a mess of wiring, you'll need an electrical guy on it. He's best to straight up run a new circuit from the sending unit to your gauges, with fresh grounds for both.

    Alternatively, you can contact painless wiring and order a vehicle harness for your truck. Since it's carb'd, and there's relatively few wires, it shouldn't be too expensive and you'll get all wires.

    A good guy can run a new circuit in about 2 hours cleanly, or 1 hour if he's just hacking it in.
    ....-Noltz
    '91 Frankenheep Edition. 4.0, 4" BDS, Richmond 8.8, 35" KM2's, Titan 12k, ... gone.
    '95 4Runner SR5. Air-Lift bags, OBA & 8K Winch, DD... gone.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •